Estelle Brisard Memorial Prize 2019

  • SERA
  • Estelle Brisard Memorial Prize 2019

This annual award is made by SERA to an early career educational researcher for excellence and promise in their work.

In 2007, in recognition of Estelle Brisard’s significant and outstanding contribution to educational research in Scotland, SERA created an annual award in her memory. Further information about Estelle and her work are noted below. Submissions are now invited for the 2019 award.

The prize is awarded for the best research paper written by an early career researcher based in Scotland and is presented annually at the SERA conference. For the 2019 award, submissions should be made by Friday 30th August, 5pm.

The award consists of:

  • A cash prize of £250 and certificate to be presented at the SERA conference at the University of Edinburgh on Thursday 21st November 2019
  • Free conference dinner ticket for the winner and a partner
  • Free conference attendance at SERA 2019

The winner will also be encouraged to submit their paper for consideration by the Scottish Educational Review (SER) and to work on their paper in order to present it at the SERA conference in 2020.

Eligibility: the competition is open to all of those who are at an early stage in their educational research careers. This is likely to include Masters and doctoral students, educational practitioners working in schools or in adult and community settings, and lecturers/tutors who are early career researchers in further or higher education.

In addition to the research paper, submissions should include a statement of up to 100 words outlining the candidate’s research experience, current activity and aspirations.

The judging panel will consist of four members of the SERA Executive Committee.

All entries to be sent to Dr. Anna Beck (

Previous Estelle Brisard Memorial Prize Winners:

  • Dr. Shagufta Shafqah Chandi – University of Glasgow (2012)
  • Mr. David Johnston – University of Aberdeen (2013)
  • Dr. Kirsten Darling – University of Aberdeen (2014)
  • Dr. Denise Mifsud – University of West of Scotland (2015).
    • At the 2015 edition, the submission from Anna Wilson (University of Stirling) was highly commended.
  • Tracey Hughes – PhD student at University of Stirling (2016)
  • Dr Jennifer Farrar – University of Glasgow (2017)
  • Omolabake Fakunle – University of Edinburgh (2018)